Islandmomma

Exploring the Stories of the Islands and the Freedoms of Third Age

Calima

Leave a comment



Calima

Originally uploaded by islandmommacanarias

This was my favorite, local beach, La Tejita, at around 9.15 this morning. that isn’t mist or fog, but dust. Dust which has swept across from Africa on a wave of hot air that feels like a giant hairdryer has been turned on you whenever you step outdoors. It is stifling, even with all the shutters down and windows closed that smell, something like the smell I remember when everyone in the street had a coal fire burning when I was a kid, invades. Two minutes after you cross the threshold you are drenched in sweat, and even sitting here, in the evening cool, close to midnight, sweat trickles down my back, despite the cool clothing.

This isn’t photoshopped, btw. These colors are real. I hit the road at 8am, when it was even more ghostly, and the sun was struggling to appear through a sulphurous veil. By 9 the colors were warming up a little.

I know I am neglecting this blog. Strange when both time, mood and circumstances indicate I should be babbling away more…..I will be – soon!

Author: IslandMomma

Loving island life and exploring the freedoms Third Age brings: Challenging myself every day: writing, traveling, snapping pix, running & teaching ESL

Leave a Reply

