Islandmomma

Exploring the Stories of the Islands and the Freedoms of Third Age

The Gift of Time

Leave a comment

It was one of those silly, clumsy moments when you wish the earth would open and swallow you up. I’d popped the stuff into the recycling bins. What I hadn’t noticed was the woman walking on the other side of the containers with her two dogs……but Trixy did. She bolted, I was taken by surprise, I managed to steady myself for a second, and then down I went to my great surprise. “Can that woman see my knickers?” I wondered as I collided with the dirty tarmac – or lack of it. I realized later that a small pothole had been the ultimate cause of my embarrassment, as my big toe began to swell.

Not to dwell on the boring bits – upshot is that for the last four weeks I have been sporting an ugly plaster on my left arm.

It’s itchy, it’s frustrating and it’s irritating on a dozen levels, but it has also been a learning curve.

9230_1226031620759_1528104790_597551_1258393_n

The one thing we can never buy is time, so this has been a gift. The first couple of weeks, not fully understanding the extent of the injury or the time scale involved I just read and read and read. There is never, ever enough time for this.

Evidently much greater minds than mine have already mused on this:

“One glance at a book and you hear the voice of another person, perhaps someone dead for 1,000 years. To read is to voyage through time.” (Writer and Astronomer Carl Sagan)

I am still reading as if there is there is no tomorrow, but this gift has been to give me time to reflect on what has gone before, come to terms with some things which happened and with some which I now know will never be. Time has given me acceptance.

It has also given me time to pull together all those half-formed ideas and plans which have been rushing around my brain, and vying for attention with the more immediate needs and committments of my life. Time has given me clarity.

There has even been time to clear out the deadwood, all that stuff, both mental and physical,which weighs down our journey, and slows us down. The type of stuff which stops us from seeing the trees because the forrest is too thick. Time has given me a clearer road map.

Mostly time has given me the opportunity to explore new paths and abandoned roads. It has shown me new possibilities, given me hope and inspirations. Time has renewed my purpose and ignited enthusiasms, which had been buried under a rubble of mediocrity and ennui.

All this virtually without leaving my sofa, because the heat caused more discomfort! Who knows what awaits when one actually sets out on the journey again!

Author: IslandMomma

Loving island life and exploring the freedoms Third Age brings: Challenging myself every day: writing, traveling, snapping pix, running & teaching ESL

Leave a Reply

