Islandmomma

Exploring the Stories of the Islands and the Freedoms of Third Age

Summer’s End

Leave a comment

Oh I know it will be ages yet before the heat subsides, especially here, where it can continue into December, but it was with a jolt just now I noted that it wasn’t even 9 pm and dusk had fallen.  The last signs of sunset barely color the sky, I couldn’t see my keyboard, and the lights all twinkle along the coast.

Summer isn’t my favorite season, at least not here on the islands.  It will be hot and sticky, at least during daylight hours, for weeks, but I miss the light.  Already my morning walks are beginning at 7.15 and not at 7.  The thing I like most about the Summer is the light, the freedom, the sense of space it brings.  I like to stand in the mountains and drink in the miriad of stars, or tread comforting, busy city streets by night, but dark in other places depresses me.  It feels as if I should hibernate.  Some prehistoric instinct I guess!

So I regret the passing of Summer in these last, few days, not for the heat, but for the light.

Author: IslandMomma

Loving island life and exploring the freedoms Third Age brings: Challenging myself every day: writing, traveling, snapping pix, running & teaching ESL

Leave a Reply

