Islandmomma

Exploring the Stories of the Islands and the Freedoms of Third Age

My blog, my life?

Leave a comment

I am ambivalent about this blog. I have a journal elsewhere which is very private, and where I share my thoughts and dreams with a certain group of people I know well by now. I made this one in part to keep in touch with friends who are not part of that group, so it needs to be public, and yet the public part does not sit well with me.

I hate it when someone makes a comment of which I disapprove (I am an intellectual snob amongst other things) , or which is clearly spamming. It’s like an invasion of my privacy. OK I know I can reject them, and I do. I suppose it’s modern life. I would so hate to be famous, for nothing ever to feel truly private. This is bad enough. So don’t do it? Well, as well as keeping in touch with far flung folk it is creative. I’ve put some time and effort into it now, but maybe I should learn to let go. I don’t know.

I am not sure how to approach it, what to say, about what, about who. Am I offending other people’s sense of privacy? I hope not. Sometimes I write out posts and then delete them because I feel as if I am giving away a part of myself, and I don’t want to do that, and yet if I really had good karma I would be happy to share. It comes down to not being true to myself in certain areas of my life I think. So gotta rethink that then.

Listen to me-the one who has always been so fascinated by communication, the one who sees art as communication, the one who, when she was a teenager, used to want to be a journalist.

Author: IslandMomma

Loving island life and exploring the freedoms Third Age brings: Challenging myself every day: writing, traveling, snapping pix, running & teaching ESL

Leave a Reply

