Islandmomma

Exploring the Stories of the Islands and the Freedoms of Third Age

The Old Tramway in Santa Cruz

Leave a comment

I was looking up something when I came across this YouTube of the city of Santa Cruz de Tenerife and its tramway, from, I guess a bit less than 100 years ago. Santa Cruz has recently constructed a rather cool, modern tram system, which turned out to be one of those pleasant surprises in life. It was essential to get some traffic off the road between Santa Cruz and the old capital (and World Heritage Site) of La Laguna. When I saw the first car on display a couple of years ago I thought “no way”, but it is smooth, clean, and efficient (and is soon to have wifi!)and makes the travelling between these two little cities a pleasure. Despite the bright colors and streamlined design somehow it fits the bill as it glides past, even when you are sitting quite close in a pavement café.

I was brought up in a town where trams were a normal sight. In fact, when I graduated to Grammar School part of my lonely journey the first few weeks was by tram. So pardon me if they make me a bit nostalgic. I really must find more!

Author: IslandMomma

Loving island life and exploring the freedoms Third Age brings: Challenging myself every day: writing, traveling, snapping pix, running & teaching ESL

Leave a Reply

